Would like to help

A generic talk on the OpenMW project.
lgromanowski
Site Admin

Would like to help

Post by lgromanowski »

K1ll wrote: Hello

I've been lurking the forums, the wiki and github of OpenMW for quite some time now and finally decided to join the project. I'm a C coder and have basic knowledge of object oriented programming but haven't worked with C++ yet.

The code is still pretty confusing for me and i haven't found anything to work on which seems easy enough to begin with. I'm pretty open to suggestions thought.

I admire the effort you have put into this project and think it's a good example of open source development.

PS: My main OS is Ubuntu but i also have win xp and win 7 and can cross-compile for both.
Star-Demon wrote:
K1ll wrote:Hello

I've been lurking the forums, the wiki and github of OpenMW for quite some time now and finally decided to join the project. I'm a C coder and have basic knowledge of object oriented programming but haven't worked with C++ yet.

The code is still pretty confusing for me and i haven't found anything to work on which seems easy enough to begin with. I'm pretty open to suggestions thought.

I admire the effort you have put into this project and think it's a good example of open source development.

PS: My main OS is Ubuntu but i also have win xp and win 7 and can cross-compile for both.
Welcome!

C to C++ isn't hard. If you feel comfortable doing any of the smaller tasks in C, then C++ will only make things easier for you by making it more logical and organized and not occupying your time.

If you want, try making really basic projects in C++.

Make an Item, and then make descendants of Item and experiment with heavy use of Polymorphism and Inheritance. Now try making fake classes that represent systems and try to make a UML diagram to see how they interact. See what you can access and what you can't. I'm sure you'll be fine and I'm just talking.